In the Atrium with Joon Beh

For Joon Beh of Seoul, South Korea, studying at BYU is all in the family. Beh’s sister transferred to BYU from one of the most prestigious universities in South Korea and never looked back. Beh, a senior accounting major, followed in her footsteps and has loved his BYU and Marriott School experiences as well as the leadership opportunities he’s found.

MAM: Why did you decide to major in accounting? 

Joon Beh:  It’s always been my dream to start my own business.  While taking Accounting 200, I noticed that accounting is the language of business. Studying accounting has helped me understand how big organizations run. And BYU is also known for accounting so I thought it was going to be a great opportunity for me to learn and grow.

MAM: Tell me about the IMA leadership program and how you got involved with that.

JB:  The Institute of Management Accountants is an organization that helps accountants network throughout the world. Professors Steve Smith and Bill Tayler sent an email saying that there was going to be a great opportunity to attend an IMA board of directors meeting in Dallas, Texas. Since I am interested in managerial accounting, I thought it would be a rare chance as a student to attend those meetings. So I applied and luckily was selected as one of five students to participate.

MAM:  What does the IMA leadership program entail?

JB: The IMA Accounting Honor’s Society was just launched as a way to help students network and receive awards and distinctions for outstanding behaviors. The five of us are the first members of the society, so we are communicating with each other continually to help IMA promote the Honor Society. I am going to spread the word around campus because I feel like I have been given much, so I am trying to give back in any way I can.

MAM:  What did you learn from attending the board meetings?

JB:   I learned how to become a leader through the program because I realized that leadership stirs my feelings and inspires passion. I learned that leadership definitely takes a lot of effort, time, and sacrifices, but can help you can grow and learn a lot faster.

MAM: What is your next step?

JB: I will take the CMA exam this summer and then work for one of the Big Four accounting firms as an auditor. Then after working for a few years, I would like to return to BYU and get an MBA to help me reach the next level of opportunities and leadership experience.