Turn Down the Heat with an Icy Mocktail

It’s getting hot, like cook-a-pizza-in-your-car hot. Put a little chill back in your life (sans AC) with this summer mocktail. It’s a raspberry slush just like mom used to make. Seriously, my mom used to make this. I brought it out of retirement for this year’s patriotic festivities to rave reviews.

The recipe comes from The Farm Girl. While she calls for now-discontinued raspberry Koolaid, I was able to find a generic sugar-free raspberry drink mix. An unintended benefit of my swap? I had to cut half the recipe’s sugar to accomodate the already sweet mix. Fewer calories and more flavor? Yes, please. For a little extra panache, I garnished the slush with fresh raspberries right before serving. They just look prettier than the frozen berries.

For more cool summer ideas, check out Around the Cooler in the the Summer 2013 magazine.